spot_img
HomeMedia BriefingsHonoring the Legacy of Vincent Chin: Strengthening Cross-Racial Solidarity

Honoring the Legacy of Vincent Chin: Strengthening Cross-Racial Solidarity

40 years ago Vincent Chin was fatally beaten with a baseball bat on the eve of his wedding. That act and the miscarriage of justice that followed (neither assailant spent a single day in jail) marked the birth of the modern day Asian American civil rights movement, according to author and activist Helen Zia. Today Asian Americans face an even more intense climate of racist hate that is targeting all communities of color as well as Jews and Muslims. Speakers will explore the rising threat of violence and hate, efforts to build a stronger multi-racial movement of solidarity to address it, and plans to commemorate Chin’s death at a special 40th anniversary in Detroit June 14-16).

WHO:

  • Michael German, a fellow with the Brennan Center for Justice’s Liberty & National Security Program
  • Helen Zia, author, activist and former journalist, founding member of the Detroit-based American Citizens for Justice
  • John C. Yang, President and CEO, Asian Americans Advancing Justice-AAJC
  • Lisa Cylar Barrett, Director of Policy, NAACP Legal Defense Fund

WHEN: Friday, May 27, 11 am-12 noon PT | 1-2 pm CT | 2-3 pm ET

Read our report on this briefing in English and Spanish

Media Briefings

Livestreams

All our Media Briefings are Livestreamed and Archived on Facebook. Follow the Conversation.