spot_img
HomeMedia BriefingsHow Scared Should We Be of Monkeypox?

How Scared Should We Be of Monkeypox?

More than 1,300 cases of monkeypox have been detected around the world. 45 cases have recently been identified in the U.S. The most identifiable symptom of the disease includes a rash that can look like pimples or blisters that appear on the face, inside the mouth, appendages, and genitals. Other symptoms include fever. headache, muscle aches and backaches, and swollen lymph nodes.

No one has died of monkeypox, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. But how worried should we be? Does monkeypox pose a similar risk to Covid? How fast can the virus spread? And are certain populations more vulnerable than others? Do we have effective therapeutics or vaccines to control the spread?

When:

Friday, June 24, 2022 | Livestream via FB Watch
11 am-noon PT | 1-2 pm CT | 2-3 pm ET

Who:

  • Dr. William Schaffner, Professor of Preventive Medicine in the Department of Health Policy and Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Dr. Ben Neuman, Professor of Biology and Chief Virologist of the Global Health
    Research Complex,
    Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Gregg Gonsalves, Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases), Yale Institute for Global Health; Co-Director, Global Health Justice Partnership

Presented by Ethnic Media Services

Media Briefings

Livestreams

All our Media Briefings are Livestreamed and Archived on Facebook. Follow the Conversation.