spot_img
HomeMedia BriefingsWhy Latin America Matters to the U.S.

Why Latin America Matters to the U.S.

For decades Latin America has been on the periphery of US foreign policy thinking, as if we could seal ourselves off from everything south of the border by building a wall. But the region is experiencing major transformations with repercussions for the entire American continent, from climate change and a growing wealth gap to the normalization of cartels and a leftward leaning political shift. Meanwhile, China, Iran and other players are deepening their strategic stakes in the region. As Biden hosts a summit of Latin American leaders (minus those of several key countries, including Mexico, Cuba, Honduras, Venezuela), speakers will assess what the U.S. stakes are in a changing Latin
America.

When:

Friday, June 10, 2022 | 11 am-12 noon PT | 1-2 pm CT | 2-3 pm ET

Who:

  • Christine Folch, Assistant Professor of Cultural Anthropology/Environmental Science and Policy, Duke University
  • Ted Lewis, Co-Director, Global Exchange
  • Ariel Ruiz Soto, Policy Analyst, Migration Policy Institute
  • Manuel Ortiz Escámez, Photojournalist & Publisher, Peninsula 360

Presented by Ethnic Media Services

Media Briefings

Livestreams

All our Media Briefings are Livestreamed and Archived on Facebook. Follow the Conversation.